What GPS Settings Do You Use?

Share navigation tips, discuss map-reading, compass use etc.

Moderator: Moderators

Message
Author
User avatar
Dizzy
Adventurer
Adventurer
Posts: 815
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:28 pm
Location: North Devon
Contact:

What GPS Settings Do You Use?

#1 Postby Dizzy » Thu Jun 14, 2007 10:52 pm

Hi everyone, as I'm sure most of you are aware I've recently invested in a GPS or to be precise a Garmin Etrex (the yellow one). After 12 years of using a sighting compass on Dartmoor, I decided to get with the times. The GPS is only for the occassional use, as I feel it takes a lot of fun out of the 'searching' part of letterboxing.
One thing I'm not to sure about is what the setting should be, I've read through the handbook but it's not that clear which one's I should be using for the moors. By the way, it worked ok yesterday on Dartmoor, shame it threw it down with rain most of the time though. :(

Ok, here are the settings I have got so far:

Position Frmt: British Grid
Map Datum: ord srvy GB
Units: Statute
North Ref: Magnetic
Variance: 004°

Are any of the settings wrong? I tracked a couple of boxes down with the GPS so everything seems to be working okish.

Dizzy
Visit my website and please leave a message on my new Guestbook!
http://www.letterboxstamper.co.ukhttp://www.devonartist.co.uk
Image

ghostbusters&mountain
Hiker
Hiker
Posts: 69
Joined: Sun Jan 08, 2006 9:20 pm
Location: stenalees cornwall

#2 Postby ghostbusters&mountain » Thu Jun 14, 2007 11:01 pm

I,ve got the same settings works for me fine you must have it set up right for the moors. hope this helps
Image

Brinnie
Hiker
Hiker
Posts: 186
Joined: Fri Sep 29, 2006 2:14 pm
Location: Dartmoor

#3 Postby Brinnie » Fri Jun 15, 2007 11:20 am

Mine is the same and it works fine, try it again.
Brinnie

User avatar
Fulchet
Adventurer
Adventurer
Posts: 884
Joined: Sat Jan 20, 2007 12:11 am
Location: Cornwall

#4 Postby Fulchet » Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:06 pm

same here

good luck with it Dizzy

Tina
next target 2000 - hopefully some time in 2010 (ha, ha, make that 2013)
Tina

User avatar
NUMBER 70
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 500
Joined: Thu Apr 13, 2006 4:34 pm
Location: CHESHIRE

#5 Postby NUMBER 70 » Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:19 pm

Thats interesting variance dont think my Garmin 12 has that on will have to check.

I use it for 8 digit boxes as well just add a nought to the back of the four digits then when you get there dig your compass out and check the bearings off the clue, (that might keep Nic happy :D :D )
Now a Sustrans Volunteer Ranger Group Coordinator on the Trans Pennine Trail

User avatar
Dizzy
Adventurer
Adventurer
Posts: 815
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 4:28 pm
Location: North Devon
Contact:

#6 Postby Dizzy » Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:27 pm

Thanks everyone, at least I know that I've got the setting correct! :)

I found it gets you in the right area for the boxes, but as mentioned I do prefer using my sighting compass, old habbits die hard. I think when it's foggy, or it's those boxes which no matter how hard you look you don't even find an empty site, the GPS will come off my belt clip.

Cheers
Dizzy
Visit my website and please leave a message on my new Guestbook!

http://www.letterboxstamper.co.ukhttp://www.devonartist.co.uk

Image

User avatar
wires
Hiker
Hiker
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:11 pm
Location: plymouth

#7 Postby wires » Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:44 pm

the only differance to mine is that i use metric, just relates to the os maps that bit better for hights etc. but that is personal preferance
Image

dont stand in somone elses shaddows, make your own mark. ..... do somthing that might scare you, it will change your life.

User avatar
wires
Hiker
Hiker
Posts: 192
Joined: Tue Feb 07, 2006 8:11 pm
Location: plymouth

#8 Postby wires » Fri Jun 15, 2007 5:46 pm

oh yeah somthing to rember, the grid referance you read off the screen is to one meter, but the normal accuracy is only to 5 meters
Image



dont stand in somone elses shaddows, make your own mark. ..... do somthing that might scare you, it will change your life.

User avatar
Nik - KOTM
Site Admin
Posts: 2593
Joined: Sat Mar 26, 2005 9:21 pm
Location: Somewhere over the rainbow

#9 Postby Nik - KOTM » Fri Jun 15, 2007 10:38 pm

You could try turning it up the other way so that it is the correct way up :lol:

Just kidding mate - I hope you gain faith in it soon
Nik 248 to go
Image

Station Master
Hiker
Hiker
Posts: 198
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 2:40 pm
Location: nr Dartmoor

#10 Postby Station Master » Mon Nov 30, 2009 4:29 pm

Your settings r fine.

But do you have to buy a cable to link in with your computer?


Return to “Navigation”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: magpie (Bot) and 0 guests